Books

 

YOUNG ADULT

 

FOREST OF A THOUSAND LANTERNS

RISE OF THE EMPRESS, BOOK 1

OCTOBER 10, 2017 | Philomel Books

 

Goodreads | Pinterest | PW Announcement | Bustle Cover Reveal

 

PRE-ORDER:
Amazon | Barnes and Noble | IndieBound | Target
Book Depository | Books-A-Million | Hudson Booksellers | Powell’s | Indigo

 

Foreign Publishers
Roca Editorial
(Spain)

 

The Wrath and the Dawn meets Snow White and the Huntsman in this dark and mystical East Asian fantasy reimagining of The Evil Queen legend!

Eighteen-year-old Xifeng is beautiful. The stars say she is destined for greatness, that she is meant to be Empress of Feng Lu. But only if she embraces the darkness within her.

Growing up as a peasant in a forgotten village on the edge of the map, Xifeng longs to fulfill the destiny promised to her by her cruel aunt, the witch Guma, who has read the cards and seen glimmers of Xifeng’s majestic future. But is the price of the throne too high? Because in order to achieve greatness, she must spurn the young man who loves her and exploit the callous magic that runs through her veins — sorcery fueled by eating the hearts of the recently killed. For the god who has sent her on this journey will not be satisfied until his power is absolute.

Set in an East Asian-inspired fantasy world filled with both breathtaking pain and beauty, Forest of a Thousand Lanterns possesses all the hallmarks of masterful fantasy: dazzling magic, heartbreaking romance, and a world that hangs in the balance. Fans of Stealing Snow and Red Queen will devour this stunning debut.

 

PRAISE FOR FOREST OF A THOUSAND LANTERNS
 
A Fall 2017 Junior Library Guild Selection!
 
“A richly developed fantasy world coupled with an ambitious anti-heroine of complex agency, this story shines and surprises at every turn. Julie C. Dao is a talent to watch.” Marie Lu, #1 New York Times bestselling author of The Young Elites
 
“Dark, lush, and intense, Forest of a Thousand Lanterns draws you into a world filled with mystery and intrigue, led by a heroine determined to grasp her destiny. A stunning debut!” Cindy Pon, author of WANT and Serpentine
 
“A stunning reimagining of the Evil Queen. Filled with treacherous courtesans, dark magic, terrible choices, and bloody hearts, Julie Dao’s exquisite take on this classic villain rises far above the average retelling.” Stephanie Garber, New York Times bestselling author of Caraval


MIDDLE GRADE

 

 
 

 

PUMPKIN PATCH PRINCESS

|| Read it for FREE on Wattpad HERE. ||
View some gorgeous PPP fanart here!

 

A fun, magical fairy tale perfect for fans of THE PRINCESS DIARIES or ELLA ENCHANTED!

Noelle Simpkins is sick of working for her parents.

Sure, her dad runs a booming pumpkin business and her mom’s the greatest shoemaker in the land. But pumps and pumpkins get OLD after a while, and at 14, she’s ready to see more of the world.

When she hears about a fairy godmother internship in the city, she jumps on it. The goal? Make sure royal clients get happily-ever-afters — all while battling goblins, curing curses, and figuring out how to use a magic wand. Not to mention shutting down a rival godmother and avoiding Kit, a distractingly cute pie seller who keeps turning up.

But as exciting as the new gig is, Noelle begins to realize… she kind of misses making shoes and growing pumpkins.

Has she gotten closer to her own happily-ever-after, or farther away?

And when the (glass) shoe’s on the other foot, can she stay true to her own heart?

 

A Wattpad Featured Story
Top 50 on the Wattpad Teen Fiction Hot List
 

 

Copyright © 2017, Julie C. Dao, All Rights Reserved

Julie C. Dao