Events

 

Monday, April 2, 2018

TBA
 

Saturday, April 7, 2018

TBA
 

Friday, May 18, 2018 – Sunday, May 20, 2018

RETELL, REVISIT, REIMAGINE: Writing Fresh Fairy Tales and Folklore For Older Readers (A Highlights Foundation Workshop)

Fairy tales have inspired writers since they were first recorded. In this workshop, you’ll explore the ways you can incorporate or reimagine them into your middle grade or young adult novel. Fairy tales demand the same level of writing as any other form of fiction, so the focus of the workshop will always be on craft.

You will:

– Hear faculty sessions on craft.
– Complete writing prompts.
– Enjoy free writing time.
– Participate in group discussions.
– Work with a faculty mentor for feedback on your manuscript.

Faculty Members: Anna-Marie McLemore, Julie C. Dao

REGISTER HERE

 
 
 

PAST EVENTS

Saturday, November 11, 2017

Wordstock Festival: Portland, Oregon

1:30 pm – 2:30 pm: “Rebel Rebel: Revolutionaries and Resisters” panel with Fonda J. Lee and Emily Suvada

2:30 pm – 3:00 pm: Signing FOREST OF A THOUSAND LANTERNS in Kinsman Hall
 

Saturday, Nov. 5, 2017 – Sunday, Nov. 6, 2017

Andersons YA Literature Conference: Naperville, Illinois

“Fantastical Worlds” panel with: Traci Chee, Peternelle Van Arsdale, Jessica Cluess, Margaret Rogerson, Lisa Maxwell, Livia Blackburne, Morgan Rhodes, and Elly Blake
 

Monday, Oct. 30, 2017 – Friday, Nov. 4, 2017

National Bookseller Dinner Tour

with:
Tochi Onyebuchi (BEASTS MADE OF NIGHT, Razorbill)
Peter Bognanni (THINGS I’M SEEING WITHOUT YOU, Dial)

– Minneapolis, MN
– San Francisco, CA
– Los Angeles, CA
– Seattle, WA
– Chicago, IL
 

Saturday, October 28, 2017

Boston Book Festival

2:00 pm – 3:00 pm: “Young Adult Fantasy Worlds” panel with Tochi Onyebuchi and Libba Bray, moderated by Lana Popovic
 

Saturday, October 14, 2017

 
Southern Festival of Books, Nashville, Tennessee

3:00 pm – 4:00 pm: In Conversation with Cinda Williams Chima: Dark Paths to Majesty
4:00 pm – 4:30 pm: Signing at Parnassus Books tent
 

Friday, October 13, 2017

Southern Festival of Books, Nashville, Tennessee

6:30 pm: Authors in the Round dinner
 

Thursday, October 12, 2017

FOREST OF A THOUSAND LANTERNS Official Launch Party!
 


 

Friday, October 6, 2017

New York Comic-Con, Javits Convention Center, NYC
 


 

Monday, September 18, 2017

New England Independent Booksellers Association’s 2017 Fall Conference
 

Saturday, June 3, 2017

7:30 am – 9:00 am: Penguin Game Changers Blogger Breakfast
 

Friday, June 2, 2017

Book Expo, Javits Convention Center, NYC

12:15 pm – 1:45 pm: Booksellers Speed Dating Luncheon
3:00 pm – 4:00 pm: Signing advance copies of FOREST OF A THOUSAND LANTERNS at Booth #1921!

* See a photo of my signing in Publishers Weekly: Book Expo 2017 in Photos!

Julie C. Dao